### **Resolution 016**

## A Resolution to Extend the Hours of the Eatery Sponsored by: Senator Martin

# Co-Sponsored by: Senator Cunningham, Senator Drauschak, Senator Farrell, Senator Hermann, Senator Holcomb, Senator Kazanci, Senator Michels, Senator Pelekasis

#### Whereas.

The Eatery's current hours of operation are as follows:<sup>1</sup>

- Monday through Thursday: 7:30am-10:30am, 11:00am-3:00pm, and 5:00pm-9:00pm
  - Friday: 7:30am-10:30am, 11:00am-3:00pm, and 5:00pm-8:00pm
    - Saturday: 9:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-8:00pm
    - Sunday: 9:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-9:00pm

#### Whereas,

Many students have obligations, such as student athlete practices, nursing student clinicals, and external employment which surpass the hours of operation of the Eatery multiple days of the week.

#### Whereas.

The inability to use the dining plan causes a significant loss of money to students, along with an increase of financial burden on the undergraduate students as they have to find other sources of food.

#### Whereas.

Many students have special medical needs or conditions that require them to eat, and a lack of nutritious and balanced meals is harmful to them.

#### Be it enacted that.

The Student Government Association Senate, acting in its official capacity as the representative of the undergraduate student body of The Catholic University of America, hereby requests

- 1. The Eatery hours of operation are extended on Monday through Thursday from 9:00 p.m. until 10:30 p.m. for takeout.
- 2. The Eatery hours of operation are extended on Friday from 8:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. for takeout.
- 3. The Eatery hours of operation on Saturday reduces its 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 pm break to 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Agreed to by a vote of	yeas to	nays on this date:	with
abstaining and	not present.		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> University, Catholic, "Dine On Campus." *The Catholic University of America*, <a href="https://dineoncampus.com/catholic/hours-of-operation">https://dineoncampus.com/catholic/hours-of-operation</a>

Abigail Anger

President of the Student Government Association

