The Catholic University of America Student Government Association 2024-2025 Senate Session 10-2



October 28th, 2024 8:15 p.m. – 10:15 p.m. EST

ROLL CALL

<u>Vice President</u> - Clare Tong <u>Secretaries</u> - Christian Sawn and Faustina Bernardy

Parliamentarian - Allison Ewing

Class of 2025

Owen Halbrook _____ Elle Ward _____

Class of 2026

Gabriel Aliaga _____ Bennett Bert _____

Class of 2027

Jack Hermes _____ Catherine Weatherwax _____

Class of 2028

Nicholas Albarano _____ Kevin McNicholas _____

School of Architecture Elisabeth D'Albero _____ Luc Vanraes _____

Key: X- Here, A- Absent

School of Arts and Sciences
Julian Coleman

Gary VanPelt _____

School of Business Gianluca Albanese

Matthew Moskowski

School of Engineering Richard Harrington _____ Emma Wallace _____

School of Music, Drama, and Art Jason Desilva Jr. _____ Madelyn Kobbermann _____

School of Nursing Emma Ballard____ Elizabeth Papa_____

School of Philosophy

Maximus McHugh_____ David Norcross _____

School of Social Service

Gabriela Pereira-Ruano_____ Franny Noory_____

School of Theology

Joshua Ortiz_____ Clifford Pfaff _____ **NOTE:** Below is an agenda of all items scheduled to be considered for the present meeting. Notification is hereby proved that items on the agenda may be taken out of the order presented, two or more agenda items may be combined for consideration, and an agenda item may be removed from the agenda or discussion relating to an item on the agenda may be delayed at any time at the discretion of the presiding officer.

Any legislation or business being presented has been provided to the Vice President at least 48 hours prior to tonight's meeting and to all other members of the Senate at least 24 hours prior to tonight's meeting. The Vice President reserves the right to postpone debate of legislation based on the time constraints of the Senate meeting

CALL TO ORDER -- ROLL CALL 8:15 PM

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE 8:16 PM

PRAYER 8:17 PM

1. Public Comment 8:20 PM

A. Public comment will be taken at the start of the session. Comments will be limited to one minute per person. Persons making comments will be asked to begin by stating their name for the record, and if applicable naming the college or organization they represent. In accordance with Senate bylaws, the Vice President may prohibit comment if the content of that comment is a topic that is not relevant to, or within the authority of this body, or if the content is willfully disruptive of the meeting, irrelevant, repetitious, slanderous, offensive, inflammatory, irrational or amounting to personal attacks or interfering with the rights of other speakers.

2. Adoption of Agenda 8:25 PM

3. Approval of the Minutes 8:28 PM

4. Senate Speaker 8:30 PM

A. Dr. Lynn Mayer, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

5. New Business

A. Committee Chair Updates 8:50 PM

i. Senator Hermes, Rules and Administration

ii. Senator D'Albero, Academic Affairs

iii. Senator Weatherwax, University Services

iv. Senator Noory, Student Resources

v. Senator Bert, Campus Life

B. Senator Jack Hermes, Class of 2027 (Bill 001) 9:00 PM

i. A Bill to Update Senate Committee Composition

C. Senator Bennett Bert, Class of 2026 (Resolution 002) 9:20 PM

ii. A Resolution to Increase Accessibility in St. Vincent de Paul Chapel

D. Senator Joshua Ortiz, School of Theology (Resolution 003) 9:40 PM

iii. A Resolution addressing Garvey Hall Concerns

7. Vice President, SGA Updates 9:55 PM

8. Open Floor 10:00 PM

9. Adjournment 10:15 PM